Click on the links below to find a directory of contacts for the N8 groups and programmes:

N8 Board
N8 Strategic Executive Group
Nominated points of contact
Research Directors Group
Communications Directors Group
Clean and Productive Business lead
Child of the North lead
AgriFood leads
Policing Research Partnership leads
CIR leads
International leads
PDRA leads
Transport leads

 

N8 Board

Durham

Stuart Corbridge, Vice-Chancellor: vice.chancellor@durham.ac.uk
Denise Baker, PA to Stuart Corbridge: denise.baker@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Andy Schofield, Vice Chancellor: a.j.schofield@lancaster.ac.uk
Michelle Needham, PA to Andy Schofield: m.needham@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Simone Buitendijk, Vice-Chancellor: s.e.buitendijk@leeds.ac.uk
Jill Sewell, PA to Simone Buitendijk: J.Sewell@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Dame Janet Beer, Vice-Chancellor: j.p.beer@liverpool.ac.uk
Lindsey Sergeant, PA to Janet Beer: Lindsey.Sergeant@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Dame Nancy Rothwell, President and Vice-Chancellor: nancy.rothwell@manchester.ac.uk
Roz Dutton, PA to Nancy Rothwell: president@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Chris Day, Vice-Chancellor and President: chris.day@newcastle.ac.uk
Alice Lang, PA to Chris Day: alice.lang@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Koen Lamberts, President and Vice-Chancellor: vc@sheffield.ac.uk
Rachel Frith, PA to Koen Lamberts: r.l.frith@sheffield.ac.uk / vcdiary@sheffield.ac.uk
Dawn Stewart, PA to Koen Lamberts: d.stewart@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Charlie Jeffrey, Vice-Chancellor: vc@york.ac.uk
Julie Bedford, PA to Charlie Jeffrey: julie.bedford@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

N8 Strategic Executive Group

Durham

Colin Bain, Vice-Provost (Research): vp.research@durham.ac.uk
Di Kirkby, PA to Colin Bain: dianne.kirkby@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Louise Heathwaite, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research & Enterprise): louise.heathwaite@lancaster.ac.uk
Anita Formby-Barker, PA to Louise Heathwaite: a.formby-barker@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Nick Plant, Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation): n.plant@leeds.ac.uk
Sarah Foster, PA to Nick Plant: s.foster@adm.leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Anthony Hollander, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research & Impact: a.hollander@liverpool.ac.uk
Sarah Gartside, PA to Anthony Hollander: sarah.gartside@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Colette Fagan, Vice-President for Research: colette.fagan@manchester.ac.uk
Kelly Burnham, PA to Colette Fagan: kelly.burnham@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Brian Walker, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Research Strategy and Resources: brian.walker@newcastle.ac.uk
Paula Kew, PA to Brian Walker: paula.kew@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Sue Hartley, Vice-President for Research: s.hartley@sheffield.ac.uk
Claire Cottrell, PA to Sue Hartley: c.cottrell@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Matthias Ruth, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research: matthias.ruth@york.ac.uk
Hannah Smallpage Hirst, PA to Matthias Ruth: pvc-research-pa@york.ac.uk / hannah.smallpage-hurst@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

Nominated points of contact

Durham

Lorna Wilson, Head of Research Development in the Research and Innovation Services: lorna.wilson@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Anita Formby-Barker, PA to Louise Heathwaite: a.formby-barker@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Ceri Williams, Director of Research and Innovation Development: C.J.R.Williams@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Ellie Farnworth, Strategic Projects Manager: eleanorf@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Sarah Albutt, Head of Research Strategy: sarah.albutt@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Brian Walker PVC, Research Strategy and Resources: brian.walker@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Sue Hartley, Vice-President for Research: s.hartley@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Helen Niblock, Research Development Manager, Physical Sciences: helen.niblock@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

Research Directors Group

Durham

Andrew Jackson, Director of Research & Innovation Services: andrew.r.jackson@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Dion Williams, Director of Research, Enterprise and Innovation: d.williams2@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Ceri Williams, Director of Research and Innovation Development: C.J.R.Williams@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Sarah Jackson, Director of Research, Partnerships and Innovation: s.k.jackson@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Andrew Walsh, Director of Research and Business Engagement: andrew.m.walsh@manchester.ac.uk
Sarah Albutt, Head of Research Strategy: sarah.albutt@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

David Hill, Director of Research Strategy and Development: david.hill@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Deborah Mclean, Director of Research Services: d.mcclean@sheffield.ac.uk

York

David McBeth, Director of Research and Enterprise: david.mcbeth@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

Communications Directors Group

Durham

Claire Whitelaw, Deputy Director of Marketing & Communications: c.m.whitelaw@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Victoria Tyrell, Head of Communications: v.tyrrell@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Elaine O’Flynn: E.O’Flynn1@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Sabina Frediani, Director of Communications and Public Affairs: Sabina.Frediani@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Anne Arnold, Communications Manager: anne.arnold@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Louella Houldcroft, Senior Communications Manager: louella.houldcroft@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Annie Goss, Head of PR & External Communications: a.goss@sheffield.ac.uk
Stephen Thompson, Head of Digital Engagement: stephen.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Alistair Keely, Head of Media Relations: alistair.keely@york.ac.uk
Joan Concannon, Director of External Relations: joan.concannon@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

Clean and Productive Business lead

Nick Goldspink, Research Partnership Manager: nick.goldspink@n8research.org.uk

Return to top menu

 

Child of the North lead

Stephen Parkinson, Research Partnership Manager: stephen.parkinson@n8research.org.uk

Return to top menu

 

AgriFood leads

N8 lead

Nick Goldspink, Research Partnership Manager: nick.goldspink@n8research.org.uk

Durham

Ari Sadanandom, Professor, Department of Biosciences: ari.sadanandom@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Mariana Rufino, Professor of Agricultural Systems: m.rufino1@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Louise Dye, Professor of Nutrition and Behaviour: l.dye@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Diana Williams, Professor, Infection Biology: Williadj@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Bruce Grieve, Chair in Agri-Sensors and Electronics: bruce.grieve@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Angharad Gatehouse, Professor of Invertebrate Molecular Biology: a.m.r.gatehouse@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Duncan Cameron, Professor of Plant and Soil Biology: d.cameron@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Bob Doherty, Professor of Marketing & Chair in AgriFood & Principal Investigator of IKnowFood: bob.doherty@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

Policing Research Partnership leads

N8 lead

Stephen Parkinson, Research Partnership Manager: stephen.parkinson@n8research.org.uk

Durham

Nicole Westmarland, Director of the Durham Centre for Research into Violence and Abuse (CRIVA): nicole.westmarland@durham.ac.uk
Donna-Marie Brown, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology: donna.m.brown@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Jude Towers, Associate Director Violence and Society UNESCO Centre: j.towers@lancaster.ac.uk
Corrine May-Chahal, Professor, Department of Sociology: c.may-chahal@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Adam Crawford, Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice: a.crawford@leeds.ac.uk
Stephanie Abraham, Project Manager, PRP: s.abraham@leeds.ac.uk
David Allen, Professor of Information Management: da2@lubs.leeds.ac.uk
David Wall, Chair in Criminology: d.s.wall@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Ross Comber, Professor of Criminology and Sociology: Ross.Coomber@liverpool.ac.uk
Liz Turner, Lecturer in Sociology & Criminology: elizabeth.turner@liverpool.ac.uk
Laurence Alison, Chair in Forensic and Investigative Psychology, Psychological Sciences: l.j.alison@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Steve Brookes, Senior Fellow, Alliance Manchester Business School: stephen.brookes@manchester.ac.uk
Geoff Pearson, Senior Lecturer in Criminal Law: geoff.pearson@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Jill Clark, Principal Research Associate and Executive Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching: jill.clark@ncl.ac.uk
Gavin Oxburgh, Professor of Applied Forensic Psychology; gavin.oxburgh@ncl.ac.uk

Sheffield

Layla Skinns, Centre for Criminological Research: l.skinns@sheffield.ac.uk
Joanna Shapland, Edward Bramley Professor of Criminal Justice: j.m.shapland@sheffield.ac.uk
Matt Bacon, Lecturer in Criminology: m.bacon@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Charlie Lloyd, Professor of Social Policy & Criminal Justice: charlie.lloyd@york.ac.uk
Geoff Page, Research Fellow: geoff.page@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

CIR leads

N8 lead

Stephen Parkinson, Research Partnership Manager: stephen.parkinson@n8research.org.uk

Durham

Alan Real, Advanced Research Computing: alan.n.real@durham.ac.uk
Stewart Clark, Professor, Department of Physics: s.j.clark@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Chris Jewell, Senior Lecturer in Epidemiology: c.jewell@lancaster.ac.uk
Roger Jones, Head of Department of Physics: roger.jones@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Mark Conmy, Head of Research IT: m.p.conmy@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

John Cartwright, Director of Computing Services: john.cartwright@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Simon Hood, Senior Unix / Linux Specialist, HPC Support and Campus Grid Developer: simon.hood@manchester.ac.uk
Paola Carbone, Senior Lecturer, Department of Chemical Engineering & Analytical Science: paola.carbone@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Mark Turner, Head of Research Software Engineering: mark.turner@ncl.ac.uk
Paul Bushby, Reader in Applied Mathematics: paul.bushby@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Nathan Cunningham, Assistant Director, Research & Infrastructure, IT Services: n.cunningham@sheffield.ac.uk
John Harding, Professor of Materials Simulation: j.harding@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Matt Probert, N8 CIR Director and Professor of Physics: matt.probert@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

International leads

N8 lead

Nick Goldspink, Research Partnership Manager: nick.goldspink@n8research.org.uk

Durham

Lorna Wilson, Head of Research Development: lorna.wilson@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Mandy Dillon, Senior Research Development Manager: m.dillon1@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Louise Heery, Head of Global Research Development: l.m.heery@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

William Mitchell, Strategic Projects and Partnerships Manager (International): william.mitchell@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

James Evans, Senior Research Policy Officer: james.evans@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Elisa Lawson, Research Funding Development Manager: elisa.lawson@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Melanie Knight, Research Services: m.knight@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Helen Wells, Research Development Manager, Social Sciences: h.wells@york.ac.uk

N8 AgriFood lead

Marianna Ventouratou-Morys, International Strategy Manager, N8 AgriFood: Marianna.Ventouratou-Morys@n8agrifood.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

PDRA leads

Durham

Simon Rees, Associate Professor, Head of Researcher Development: simon.rees@durham.ac.uk
Lucy Woods, Head of HR Business Partnering: lucy.woods@durham.ac.uk
Louise Bracken, Professor, Department of Geography: deputy.vpresearch@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Stephen Wilkinson, Professor of Bioethics and Associate Dean for Research for FASS: s.wilkinson2@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Emma Spary, Academic Development Consultant: e.j.spary@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

James Howard, Director of The Academy: james.howard@liverpool.ac.uk
Saneeya Qureshi, Head of Researcher Development and Culture: saneeya.qureshi@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Rachel Cowen, Senior Lecturer and co-founder of the Centre for Academic and Researcher Development (CARD): rachel.cowen@manchester.ac.uk
Claire Faichnie, PGR & Research Development Manager: claire.faichnie@manchester.ac.uk
Sarah March, Head of Faculty HR for BMH and Staff Survey Lead: sarah.march@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Ian Head, Dean of Research & Innovation, School of Natural and Environmental Sciences: ian.head@newcastle.ac.uk
Lisa Rippingale, Senior Organisational Development: Advisor Lisa.Rippingale@newcastle.ac.uk
Brian Walker, PVC, Research Strategy and Resources: brian.walker@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Nicola Galley, Principal Investigator: n.galley@sheffield.ac.uk
Kerry Abrams, Dept of Materials Science & Engineering: kerry.abrams@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Karen Clegg, Head of Research Excellence Training Team: karen.clegg@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu

 

Transport leads

Durham

Hongjian Sun, Reader in Smart Grids, Leader of the Durham Smart Grid Laboratory: hongjian.sun@durham.ac.uk

Lancaster

Monika Büscher, Professor of Sociology, Director of the Centre for Mobilities Research: m.buscher@lancaster.ac.uk

Leeds

Greg Marsden, Professor of Transport Governance, Institute for Transport Studies: g.r.marsden@its.leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool

Karl Whittle, Professor of Nuclear Engineering, Energy Lead: karl.whittle@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester

Kevin Anderson, Professor of Energy & Climate Change: kevin.anderson@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle

Sara Walker, Director of Infrastructure research for Engineering: sara.walker@newcastle.ac.uk

Sheffield

Danielle Densley Tingley, Lecturer in Architectural Engineering, Director of the Urban Flows Observatory: d.densleytingley@sheffield.ac.uk

York

Samarthia Thankappan, Member of the Staff Race Equality Forum: samarthia.thankappan@york.ac.uk

Return to top menu